Imola circuit in Italy, 23 April 1972. The famous Italian race track hosts one of the most important motorcycle events in the world, besides the 200 miles of Daytona: the 200 miles of Imola. Barely a month before the race, the MV Agusta factory received the green light from Corrado Agusta, one of the founder’s sons, to prepare two very special 750 conform to the regulations of this event. In fact, the engaged bikes strictly had to be derived from a serial production. It was Arturo Magni, head of the racing department of the brand, who was entrusted with the project.

One month to prepare the racing bikes
In accordance with the regulation of the event, the MV F 750 kept the cardan and the original gearbox of the 750 S. But the engine could be tuned and the frame modified…
The upper engine carter was radically transformed: admission increased from 30 to 34 mm, the exhaust from 28 to 29 mm and the Dell’Orto were rebored to 30mm. That’s how Magni was able to pass the power from 60 to 85 bhp at 9000 rpm…
These engines were mounted in a new frame. That frame wasn’t just designed overnight: Actually, Magni had manufactured a prototype for a possible new model of the 750… The same principle applied to the brakes, these machines were equipped with Ceriani brakes from the 500 GP, the fork was a 38 mm Ceriani, the wheels Borrani, etc. In the end, the weight falls from 235 to 190 kg…

These two bikes were entrusted to Giacomo Agostini and Nello Pagani.
Due to technical problems that occurred during the testing, Pagani won’t be at the start.
Agostini started like a flash. He remained in lead for 5 laps until he was overtaken by Paul Smart on a Ducati.
In the 40th lap, Agostini’s MV had to abandon the race, due to a technical problem.

A replica or a true copy?
Amongst collectors’ bikes, this MV F 750 S is mythical. The original bike ridden by Agostini was modified by Magni: a secondary chain replaced the cardan, disc brakes replaced the drum brakes and the cylinders head received 4 valves each. That bike is now in a private collection in the USA. Pagani’s, on the other hand, remained in Italy.
The here presented MV F 750 S is an identical replica of this fabulous bike.
The frame was built in 2011 by Giovanni Magni, son of Arturo Magni, who had built the original 40 years ago. The late Arturo Magni celebrated his 90s birthday in December 2015 and passed soon after…
The serial frame number attributed by Magni is #1404. The original bikes of Agostini and Pagani had the numbers 1402 and 1403… The engine was also personally prepared by Magni with the real parts and correct carburetors.

This machine is in perfect working order, it is a unique opportunity to ride like Agostini…
Now available in Switzerland.

Further information and asking price are available upon request.


You want more information?
Send us a message

Your name *

Your email *

Your country *

Your phone number

Subject *

Message *

Circuit d’Imola en Italie, le 23 Avril 1972. Le célèbre circuit Italien accueille une des épreuves moto les plus importantes au monde avec les 200 Miles de Daytona : les 200 Miles d’Imola. À peine un mois avant la course, l’usine MV Agusta reçoit le feu vert de Corrado Agusta, un des fils du fondateur, pour préparer deux 750 conformes à la réglementation très spéciale de cette épreuve. En effet, les motos engagées devaient être strictement dérivées de la série. C’est Arturo Magni, directeur du service course de la marque, qui prend le projet en charge.

Un mois pour préparer des motos de course
Conformément au réglement de l’épreuve, ces MV F 750 ont donc conservé le cardan et la boite d’origine des 750 S. Mais le moteur pouvait être préparé et le cadre modifié…
Le haut moteur est radicalement transformé : l’admission passe de 30 à 34 mm, l’échappement de 28 à 29 mm et les carburateurs Dell’Orto sont réalésés à 30 mm. Magni fait ainsi passer la puissance de 60 à 85 ch, à 9 000 tr/mn…
Ces moteurs sont montés dans un nouveau cadre. Ce cadre n’a pas été conçu en catastrophe : par précaution, Magni avait fabriqué un prototype pour un éventuel nouveau modèle de 750… Sur le même principe, ces machines sont équipées du freinage Ceriani prélevé sur la 500 de GP,  d’une fourche Ceriani de 38 mm, de jantes Borrani, etc. Au final, le poids tombe de de 235 à 190 kg…

Ces deux motos sont confiées à Giacomo Agostini et Nello Pagani.
Victime de problèmes techniques pendant les essais, Pagani ne prend pas le départ.
Agostini prend un départ canon. Il reste en tête pendant 5 tours avant de se faire passer par la Ducati de Paul Smart. Ce dernier remporte l’épreuve.
La MV d’Agostini est contrainte à l’abandon au 40e tour, suite à un problème technique .

Une réplique ou une copie conforme ?
Dans le domaine des motos de collection, cette MV F 750 S est mythique. La moto originale d’Agostini a été modifiée par Magni : une chaine secondaire remplace le cardan, des freins à disques remplacent les tambours et la culasse reçoit 4 soupapes par cylindre. Elle a rejoint une collection privées aux USA. Par contre, celle de Pagani est restée en Italie.
La MV F 750 S que nous vous présentons ici est une réplique « exacte » de cette fabuleuse moto.
Le cadre a été fabriqué en 2011 par Giovanni Magni, le propre fils d’Arturo Magni, celui qui avait produit l’original 40 ans auparavant. Arturo Magni, le patriarche, a fêté ses 90 ans en décembre dernier et est décédé aussitôt après…
Le numéro de série du cadre attribué par Magni à cette réplique est le 1404. Les motos originales d’Agostini et Pagani portaient les numéros 1402 et 1403… Le moteur a aussi été préparé par Giovanni Magni en personne avec les bonnes pièces et les bons carburateurs.

Cette machine, parfaitement opérationnelle, offre une opportunité unique de se prendre pour Agostini…
Elle est disponible en Suisse.


Vous voulez en savoir plus ? 
Envoyez-nous un message

Votre nom *

Votre email *

Votre pays de résidence *

Votre n° de téléphone

Sujet *

Message *